Is Pesto Halal?

Halal logo

Short answer
It is possible to find halal-certified pesto, but generally speaking, no, pesto is not halal.

Long answer
Pork and alcohol are the two most commonly cited foodstuffs that are prohibited in the Qur'an, so on the face if it, some people would be forgiven for assuming that pesto is permissible.

However, any cheese that has been produced using animal rennet is prohibited (haram), and it turns out that both Parmesan and Pecorino (the two cheeses used in traditional basil pesto) are produced using it.

Vegetarian or vegan pestos (in which the cheese is most commonly switched for tofu or nutritional yeast) are the only pestos that you can safely say are halal.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published